Results

Fred Carter mail: fred.carter@daftest.website | web: fred.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:43:51 +0000
The Secret Life Of Kim Jong Un’s Aunt, Who Has Lived In The US Since 1998
For the past 18 years, since defecting from North Korea into the waiting arms of the CIA, she's been living an anonymous life with her husband and three children.
Sean Lewis mail: sean.lewis@pulpfrictions.com | web: sean.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
A Chromebook Is Probably Better Than A Mac And Other Facts
Welcome to What We Learned This Week, a digest of the most curiously important facts from the past few days. This week: Chromebooks are good, Trump's hair is a weave and big waves are scary.
Alan Gonzalez mail: google@affablyhomonym.com | web: alan.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:39:57 +0000
The Rise Of The Beer Can
Aluminum revolutionized America’s beverage industry, but at what environmental cost?
Johnny Hughes mail: johnny.hughes@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: johnny.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Tue, 24 May 2016 22:18:30 +0000
Sci-Fi Classics That Accurately Predicted The Future
Did you know a kid’s cartoon show predicted 3D-printed food in 1962? Check out what else these science-fiction classics got eerily right about today’s technology.
Jacob Long mail: jacob.long@daftest.website | web: jacob.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:46:55 +0000
Finally, A Neodymium Magnet Defeats The Hydraulic Press
Hydraulic presses have been destroying object after object without pity, but this huge neodymium magnet actually stands up to the big brute.
Travis Turner mail: travis.turner@affablyhomonym.com | web: travis.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
The Fake University
How one California university faked students’ scores, skated by immigration authorities — and made a fortune in the process.
Brandon Martin mail: brandon.martin@klarkzon.eu | web: brandon.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 15:40:16 +0000
The Dream (Or Fantasy) Of Black Lacrosse
Participation is booming, but diversity is static in the sport. Why can't the growing sport make room?
Bruce Gray mail: bruce.gray@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: bruce.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:00:07 +0000
The Only Part Of Last Night's Spelling Bee That Matters Is This Kid's Ice Cold Game
My god. Shaking your head as your opponent is trying to spell and then clapping right in the kid's face? That's just raw. Hell yea. (The taunter, Nihar Janga, and the speller, Jairam Hathwar, went on to share the Spelling Bee title.)
George Ellis mail: george.ellis@thedarkswans.com | web: george.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 16:39:57 +0000
We Have No Idea How Most Species Age
Our lack of knowledge of how other organisms cope with time's unstoppable march directly affects our own understanding of human aging.
Louis Henry mail: louis.henry@klarkzon.eu | web: louis.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:27:48 +0000
How To Grill Just About Everything For Memorial Day
Memorial day, what with its nice weather, is the first big grilling weekend of the year. Why slave away in a hot kitchen on a beautiful day when you can toil over an open flame in the pounding sunshine for hours? It's the American way!
Patrick Gordon mail: google@thedarkswans.com | web: patrick.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:53:30 +0000
Get Those Squeakers Out Of Your House With This Ingenious Tipping Mouse Trap
This homemade contraption looks like it will do a way better job than most mass market traps.
Craig Powell mail: craig.powell@innovation-km.com | web: craig.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 17:43:51 +0000
The Citizen-Soldier
"As a former Marine, I’ve watched the unraveling of Iraq with a sense of grief, rage, and guilt. As an American citizen, I’ve felt the same, though when I try to trace the precise lines of responsibility of a civilian versus a veteran, I get all tangled up."
Carl Fisher mail: gmail@hockeymail.de | web: carl.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The Wild Theory That Connects All The 'Doom' Games
On the surface, Doom seems like a clean break from the previous games, merely borrowing the same premise: you’re on the surface of Mars and fighting demons from Hell. But there’s evidence suggesting it’s more, and that id Software found a way to connect the series together. Maybe.
Nicholas Gonzalez mail: gmail@pulpfrictions.com | web: nicholas.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:58:42 +0000
Trailer Narrator Torments Sarah Silverman For Not Winning Any Awards
"Under Oath" features a bunch of Academy Award winners. And also Sarah Silverman. And boy, the trailer's voiceover guy won't let her hear the end of it.
Louis Cooper mail: louis.cooper@hockeymail.de | web: louis.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The NSA’s Guide To The Internet Is Deeply Weird
“Untangling the Web” cites Borges, Frued, and Ovid — and that’s just the preface.
Travis Lee mail: travis.lee@klarkzon.eu | web: travis.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 15:40:15 +0000
Barack Obama Visits Hiroshima, Calls For An End To Nuclear Weapons
Obama laid flowers at a memorial to the dead before paying tribute to the people of Hiroshima and calling on humanity to learn the lessons of the past to make war less likely.
Kenneth Ramos mail: kenneth.ramos@pulpfrictions.com | web: kenneth.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
Tungsten Does Some Pretty Cool Stuff When You Turn It On A Lathe
This metalworker wasn't sure what quite to expect when turning a hardened shaft with a ceramic cutting tool.
Glenn Foster mail: yahoo@ventredi.eu | web: glenn.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
Why Silicon Valley's Giants Want Us To Live Forever
Despite the hyperbole, private funding is changing the science of aging for the better.
Bruce Harris mail: bruce.harris@geheime.club | web: bruce.geheime.club | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 14:40:48 +0000
People Try To Bring Some Really Weird Stuff Through Airport Security
There might not be a clear cut reason for TSA to not let a prop of a dead body from “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” through security. But there's definitely no reason for anyone to ever try that.
Mark Morales mail: mark.morales@innovation-km.com | web: mark.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
A Pay-What-You-Want Way To Master Photography
Master essential photography and editing skills with 26.5 hours of training and over 100 photography assets.
Walter Mason mail: walter.mason@pulpfrictions.com | web: walter.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:50:12 +0000
Dreaded Superbug Found For The First Time In US
A 49-year-old Pennsylvania woman showed the presence of a rare kind of E. coli infection that is resistant to antibiotics, even Colistin, which doctors sometimes use as a last resort when other antibiotics fail.
Ryan Morales mail: ryan.morales@thedarkswans.com | web: ryan.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:36:43 +0000
The Dark Side Of Livestreaming Is Beginning To Reveal Itself
After a woman live-streamed her suicide, a teenager broadcast her friend’s rape, and a man narrated his standoff with a Florida SWAT team on video steaming services. We are quickly encountering the dark side of a livestreaming society.
Daniel Cole mail: daniel.cole@geheime.club | web: daniel.geheime.club | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:32:21 +0000
Three Weeks With Apple's iPhone SE, A Mostly Excellent Starter iPhone
Apple hits a new price point with the new SE, but doesn't sacrifice much quality or many features to get there.
Harold Martin mail: harold.martin@horse-d.eu | web: harold.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 12:32:21 +0000
Is Everything Wrestling?
With each passing year, more and more facets of popular culture become something like wrestling: a stage-managed “reality” in which scripted stories bleed freely into real events, with the blurry line between truth and untruth seeming to heighten, not lessen, the audience’s addiction to the melodrama.
Clarence Marshall mail: clarence.marshall@horse-d.eu | web: clarence.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 13:11:18 +0000
Bernie Sanders Agrees To Debate Trump, And More From His Full Interview On 'Kimmel'
Jimmy Kimmel sat down with Senator Bernie Sanders on Friday night following a blockbuster of an interview with Trump the previous evening. The two talked about Bernie's policy and personal life but kept returning to the upcoming California primary and Hillary's refusal to debate.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
North Korea Linked To Digital Attacks On Global Banks
Security researchers have tied the recent spate of digital breaches on Asian banks to North Korea, in what they say appears to be the first known case of a nation using digital attacks for financial gain.
Brandon Rodriguez mail: google@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: brandon.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:50:12 +0000
National Spelling Bee Crowns Co-Champs For Third Straight Year
Jairam Hathwar and Nihar Janga were declared co-champions after a roller-coaster finish. Jairam, 13, is the younger brother of 2014 co-champion Sriram Hathwar. Nihar, at age 11, is the youngest winner of the bee on record.
Clarence Shaw mail: clarence.shaw@geheime.club | web: clarence.geheime.club | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 11:33:10 +0000
The Founder Of Know Your Meme Explains What The Hell A Meme Actually Is
For starters, "'meme" and 'viral' were two separate things."
Kyle Gibson mail: kyle.gibson@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: kyle.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 21:45:01 +0000
Watch This Middle School Choir Do The Whip, Do The Nae Nae
What a "hip" little number. Some might even say these youngsters are very much "on fleek."
Arthur Clark mail: arthur.clark@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: arthur.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 23:50:28 +0000
'Hamilton' Star Daveed Diggs Is The Most Charismatic Person In The Room
The fast-rapping and electrifying Tony nominee has finally learned how to stand out.​​​
Lawrence Butler mail: lawrence.butler@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: lawrence.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 10:06:03 +0000
Corporate America Chases The Mythical Millennial
There’s a glaring problem with these and other efforts to go after the younger among us: Millennials aren’t real.
Gregory Crawford mail: gmail@daftest.website | web: gregory.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 08:03:02 +0000
Could The Bernie Faithful Break For Trump?
Anti-establishment liberals abandoned their party in 1968, and again in 1980. Could it happen again in 2016?
Brandon Carter mail: brandon.carter@hockeymail.de | web: brandon.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 19:18:44 +0000
'Game Of Thrones' Is Basically A Magical Version Of Great British History
George RR Martin's popular saga has some scary close parallels to real life events.
Shawn Rodriguez mail: shawn.rodriguez@geheime.club | web: shawn.geheime.club | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 19:40:39 +0000
Baylor In Crisis Over Sexual Assault Scandal — Here's What's Going On
After months of controversy surrounding alleged and confirmed sexual assaults carried out by Baylor University football players, Baylor head football coach Art Briles has been fired and Baylor President Ken Starr has been demoted to Chancellor. Here's what you need to know.
Donald Robinson mail: donald.robinson@hockeymail.de | web: donald.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 06:00:03 +0000
Untangling The Messy Politics Of New Campus Activism
At Oberlin and elsewhere, a long-established liberal matrix is crumbling beneath a new wave of student activism.
Joshua Bryant mail: yahoo@affablyhomonym.com | web: joshua.affablyhomonym.com | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 16:22:34 +0000
Nitrogen Cooled Mini Cannon Tears Innocent Gelatin Block To Pieces
Nitrogen weaponry is so trendy right now.
Peter Turner mail: peter.turner@daftest.website | web: peter.daftest.website | when: Fri, 27 May 2016 04:00:04 +0000
One Of The Biggest Bitcoin Startups Just Took 'Bitcoin' Out Of Its Twitter Bio
That swap of a few words is significant. It underscores the crisis recently facing the bitcoin movement and the rapid rise of a potential competitor network called Ethereum.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 16:22:34 +0000
Supercut Of People In Movies Offering Their Welcome Will Make You Feel Really Welcome
Sit back and make yourself comfortable because you're very much welcome here. Would you like a coffee? Tea?
Nicholas Ramos mail: nicholas.ramos@klarkzon.eu | web: nicholas.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 21:54:46 +0000
How The Internet Works
A deep dive into Internet infrastructure, plus a rare visit to a subsea cable landing site.
Todd Burns mail: todd.burns@thedarkswans.com | web: todd.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 26 May 2016 19:50:56 +0000
The Hourly Wage Needed To Rent A 2-Bedroom Apartment, Mapped
A new report maps how much the average American has to earn to comfortably afford a modest rental in every US state.
more